6 Comments

Weights routine…

I’m going to be doing sprints for 10 minutes before the weight routine so I’ve decided on a full body program that is high intensity but keeps the volume of exercises low. I’m hoping to do this program for 4-6 weeks, until I can do it with no modifications, despite the fatigue and lack of recovery time I’ll have from the sprints.

  1. Barbell Push Press  8 reps
  2. Pull-up with 2 second pause* 6-8 reps
  3. Alternating dumbbell lunge  8 reps per leg
  4. Single-leg glute bridge with 3 second pause , 8 reps per leg
  5. Plank   45 – 60 seconds
  6. Dumbbell floor press  12 reps
  7. Bentover dumbbell row  10 reps
  8. Goblet squat    6-8 reps

*I’m guessing for the first few weeks I won’t be able to do a full pull up, so I’ll  start by  doing chair assisted pull ups or negative pull ups.

I’ll move pretty quickly between exercises to keep my heart rate up, at around 10-20 seconds in between each.  I’ll work up to doing the circuit 4 times, resting 2 -3 minutes in between circuits.

Tough Mudder has a workout program that they recommend as well, and I will try it, but for now I want to strengthen my upper body and increase my cardio.

6 comments on “Weights routine…

  1. Hey Alex, have you tried that Nike Trainer yet? I think you’d do great with the Intermediate or Advanced programs. I’m doing “Beginner – Get Lean” and it’s a great combo of hard strength exercises and cardio spurts. (e.g. of the craziness: “walk out push up to swivel”. what?) Something to consider for variety, if you feel like it, anyway.

    • No I haven’t but that’s a great idea Cris. I’m going to download the app and try the exercise routines. I’ll let you know what I think of them.

  2. You gave me some great workout ideas! Thanx!

Leave a Reply

