1 Comment

Nike+GPS app review…

This is the first and only app I bought from the Apple store…so this is not a post about the value of the Apple store or buying apps.  This is a post about how the Nike+GPS app has added so much value to my runs.

I am competitive…I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing, but it’s the truth.  I have fun when I play sports and for me winning is fun.  As a result, when I train, I have that same competitive attitude.  I compete with myself…I track my workouts, work to run faster, farther, up my weights or my reps…my motivation is seeing my body get stronger and be able to do more than I could do before. 

The Nike app has helped me do exactly that and it does it without making me change anything I used to do.  I have my music saved on my phone so when I start the app, it lets me select a playlist that I want to listen to.  It lets me set a goal for my run, whether that’s time or distance and it talks to me, announcing each kilometer that’s passed and telling me my total time and my average pace per km.  When I’m almost at the end, pre-recorded athletes voices come on to tell me to keep going and to congratulate me when I’m done.  It sounds corny, but it works…it keeps me motivated and keeps me on track to complete my workout in a good time.

All the runs are tracked on the app and online, I can go review my running map, my elevation, pace for every km…any detail that you could ever want. I’ve integrated it with Facebook and Twitter, so I can post that I’m starting my run on Facebook and have friends cheer me on as I go.  If I could hear the cheers along the route it would be amazing, but the fact that I announce to the world that I’m planning to do 10km, gives me the push to complete the 10km run.  I also post my pace on Facebook (all optional of course) but for me, it gives me the push I need to keep my pace up.  

Here are the screenshots of my run today:

The app allows for challenging friends but I haven’t tried it.  I’d rather run along with my friends and encourage them as they’re running than to compete against them, but hey…whatever works to motivate you.  As it tracks all your runs, you can see how many kilometers you’ve run using the app.  I like the functionality because I know when I need to change my runners (you should try to change your shoes after 300km of pounding the roads).  Nike has created levels to track how many total km’s you’ve run:

  • Yellow (0-49km, 0-30mi)
  • Orange (50-249km, 31-154mi)
  • Green (250-999km, 155-620mi)
  • Blue (1,000-2,499km, 621-1,552mi)
  • Purple (2,500-4,999km, 1553-3,106mi)
  • Black (over 5,000km or 3,107mi).

I’m at green and to be honest, seeing how far away from black I am, doesn’t make me want to run more…it makes me not care!  Regardless, there are a million features on this thing for whatever motivates you.

All they need to do now is to have the app give me water on my run! 

One comment on “Nike+GPS app review…

  1. […] at 6:45am so we started on our crazy run through the winding roads of Rosedale.  After I praise my Nike+GPS app last week, the GPS decides to go on steroids and thinks I’m running through neighbours’ […]

Leave a Reply

