5 Comments

Visit to the chiropractor…

“The art of medicine consists in amusing the patient while nature cures the disease.”
-Voltaire

Today was a pretty crazy day. I took up my friend Julia on her offer to treat me, she’s in her 4th year of study at the Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College in Toronto. She told me the first session would take long, but I don’t think she even realized how many muscles are tight in my body. I was there for 2 hours…I’m so sorry Julia, I’m sure I screwed up your whole day! I have to say that she was fantastic! I’m sure I’m slightly biased as she’s a great friend of mine, but I’ve been to enough chiropractors, physiotherapists, naturopaths, osteopaths…you name it, to know a great one when I see it. She took the time to do a full body assessment, pushed every single tight muscle attachment and nerve ending in my body and gave me tips for what to do to help and what not to do. My usual chiropractor adjusts my back and that’s about it, but Julia spent more time on my legs than any chiropractor ever has. It was as if I went to see a physiotherapist and a chiropractor at the same time! Although she didn’t have much time to treat me today, I walked out of there feeling a lot lighter and much more mobile. I tried to find a professional picture of her to show you how amazing she is, but she doesn’t take herself too seriously, so this was the best I could do. See why I love her…

The extra hour that I was there did mean that I didn’t have time to make it to the gym for my scheduled weight training. So instead I went home, checked the Nike Training app for some upper body workouts. Julia told me to rest my legs today to see how they’re feeling tonight (and if they hate her) so I kept away from the cardio exercises. Even the Stength exercises throw in legs and cardio, so instead I went to the “Get Focused” section and picked three 15 minute workouts which targeted the upper body. I picked Back Definer, Shoulder Shaper and Arm Definer. When doing weights you should always start with the bigger muscles…because you need the smaller muscles to help you work the large groups effectively so you don’t want to tire them out first. That and you warm up faster!

The 15 minute workouts are broken up into 5 exercises (lasting 5 minutes) that you repeat 3 times. Each exercise targets a different part of the muscle group that you’re working.

For Back Definer, I did supermans, plank rows, bent over rows, opposite arm/leg extension, plank row rotation…since I took out all the leg variations I was doing a lot more reps than the routine called for so I was pretty dead by the end of the 15 minutes.

Next was Shoulders, where I did alternating plank front raises, side plank reverse fly, shoulder Ts, shoulder press, reverse fly. Again, 5 exercises repeated 3 times. I have weights at home but because I was doing so many reps of these, my weights became too heavy…so what did I get…cans of beans! I kid you not, they are an amazing replacement for 2 pound or 1 pound weights. Or you can get a glass jar of something that you can hold, like salsa, and use that as a 3/4 pound weight. And finally, when my arms were jello and I couldn’t hold the cans, I let them go and did the exercise without weights….you can still feel the burn, drop the weights and keep going!

Lastly was Arms and this was pretty comical because everything was hurting by now. I did arm curls, alternating medicine ball pushups, tricep pushups on my knees, hammer curls and tricep extensions…ooouucchhh…..

A different workout completely but still a great workout with minimal weights and time! Not having time to go to the gym or not having equipment is not an excuse for not working out. If you have time to check Facebook, you have time to workout!

17 down, 163 workouts to go…

5 comments on “Visit to the chiropractor…

  1. Good chiropractors are awesome! How are those legs feeling today?

    PS. on my run today in my head I was sayin, “Don’t stop, don’t puke” and chuckled to myself.

  2. Blushing, thanks Al! And great choice of picture, not embarrassing at all!

    I’m so glad you’re feeling a little more limber. I really feel that it’s important to take a look at how the body functions as a whole, and not just check out its individual parts. A chiropractor can make a big difference by getting to the root of the problem, looking past the primary complaint to find out why it’s there, then making it feel better, then making sure it never comes back again!

    I can’t wait to get my hands on you on Tuesday! Don’t do too much damage before then!

    Jules xo

Leave a Reply

