Leave a comment

Enjoying the outdoors…

“Some of the world’s greatest feats were accomplished by people not smart enough to know they were impossible.”
– Doug Larson

Friday’s workout was a leisurely jog in the valley with my friend Karen and Trey (my 4 year old shih tzu).  Toronto has some beautiful trails, away from the cars and the noise, perfect for jogging, biking or even a nice stroll in the par..  I haven’t seen Karen in a while so it was nice to get a chance to catch up.  The sun was shining, the ground is finally dry (which means Trey has a chance to come back from the park still white instead of having a black underbelly), it was the perfect weather for jogging.

I turned my Nike app on to track how far we run and to tell us the time that we’re running, but our run wasn’t about time or distance, it was about spending quality time with each other.  We stopped when we needed to, started running again when we were ready, slowed down when Trey meet a doggie friend that he wanted to get to know…it’s what exercise should be about.  LightPaw (a blogger that I follow and respect) always talks about how we should be working out to stay fit and have a healthy life…but not at the expense of missing out on life because we’re working out…and on a day like this I completely understand what he means. 

Today’s workout was supposed to be yoga, but once again, the sun was shining, the wind was mild and I wanted to be outside so I went for a run again.  Yesterday Karen and I ran 6km when my workout plan had been 12km, so I figured that by running 10km today I’d have run 16km in total, killing the 12km plan.  I also wanted to try to see how fast I could run 10km as next Sunday is my first run of the year, the Mercendes-Benz 10km and my goal is to run it in 50 minutes.  My comfortable pace is a 5:34km, which means I can comfortably (as comfortable as 10km can be) run 10km in 55:40 minutes.  To shave over 6 minutes off my time is not going to be easy so I wanted to go out today, increase my speed and see how fast I could go.  I choose a relatively flat route and it wasn’t windy, perfect conditions to give’er.   I ran on the street so there were times that I couldn’t control the traffic lights and as fast as I am, I’m not sure I’m faster than a speeding car so I did have to stop a couple of times to wait for the light to change.  Here is the route and here is the breakdown of each km:

Kilometers 3 and 8 I had to stop at a traffic light but the rest were pretty good.  I averaged 5’05″/km and finished in 50’57″….which is amazing.  I was absolutely gassed when I reached the end so I know that I gave it all I had.  It doesn’t seem like it would be a big deal for me to shave 5 seconds off each minute to get to my goal of finishing in 50 minutes but I have to say it took a lot for me to drop 5 minutes off my regular time, this won’t be easy….

I’m going to take it a bit easier this week so nothing is sore for next Sunday so that I can give it my all…other than that, whatever happens will and I’ll be fine with it 🙂

19 down, 161 workouts to go…

Leave a Reply

