Leave a comment

Yes, I’m stubborn…

I was supposed to run today but since I was home with Trey, I didn’t want to take him on a 10km run with me as he can’t maintain my pace.  Instead, I went back to the Insanity workout I did a few weeks ago to try it again…the Max Interval Circuit video, AKA 60 minutes of craziness!

The workout is broken up into a 10 minute warm up, a stretch for 5 minutes, 3 intervals where you do a combination of 4 exercises for 45 seconds each, 3 times per interval and then a final stretch at the end, if you’re still alive.  The last time I did the workout I wasn’t able to go through it all.  I had to stop a few times and catch my breath, drink water and try to pick myself up off the floor!

  1. 10 minute warmup:
    • 4 minutes – you start with a 30 seconds intervals of jogging, jumping jacks with arms up, 3 steps and a high knee, side to side jump ropes, high knees, switch kicks, touch the floor with a jump, side to side floor hops
    • 4 minutes – repeat that craziness again
    • 2 minutes – shorten the exercises to 15 seconds each at high intensity…basically as fast as you can go!
    • I find this a great warmup/10 minute workout.  As I start getting stronger I see the quality of the exercises increasing…  my knees are higher, my abs are contracted during the side to side floor hops oh and I can do the whole thing without stopping!
  2. 5 minute stretch – you get to rest for 30 seconds and stretch for 5 minutes to catch your breath
  3. 1st interval – 3 sets of all four exercises, each set lasting 3 minutes so that each exercise is done fo 45 seconds. One minute of a cool-down exercise like jumping jacks followed by 30 seconds of rest
    • Pedal Power lunges – sprints with 4 jumping lunges every 5 seconds
    • Ski Abs/ Pushup Jacks/In and Out Abs/Oblique Pushups – 4 of each…and repeat
    • 2 Punches with Switch
    • Frog Jumps – squat front and back
    • 30 second rest
    • The 2nd exercise used to kill me…but this time I found that I was able to do it in time with his counting.  I love the ‘break’ in intensity that the 2 punches with a switch provides. 
  4. 2nd interval…same set up as before.  4 exercises done 3 times, for 45 seconds eachOne minute cool down of jumps with side to side punches followed by 30 seconds of rest
    • Hook Jumps – 4 high hooks, 4 low hooks and 4 double knee jumps
    • High knees with upper body twist
    • High low punches to one side with squats
    • Floor Switch Kicks – hands and feet on the ground bum off the ground, start with one leg in the air and switch legs
    • 30 second rest
    • I hate the double knee jumps…too much impact on my knees and lower back.  I have to concentrate to land softly and that’s pretty much impossible to do when you’re tired and trying to keep up with his crazy pace.  Floor Switch Kicks are pretty deadly too but after doing 2 rounds of them without stopping I was determined not to quit at the 3rd round and did them!
  5. 3rd interval:
    • Side Suicide Jumps – start standing, jump to a side lunge, come back up and switch sides
    • Squat Hooks – hook punches with squats each time
    • Full Body Drill – Run for 8 in plank, 4 moving pushups, 8 running man and jump up..repeat
    • Plank Punches – punch in front of your head while in plank
    • 30 second rest
    • I realized at the end of the second interval that I hadn’t stopped once…so there was no way I was ruining my amazing streak during the last interval!  The Side Suicide Jumps are pretty challenging, you need to do them slowly and controlled so you don’t tweak anything.  The full body drill is pretty crazy, your brain can barely remember what you have to do because you’re so tired.  And I was counting out the floor punches to keep my mind busy.  The first set I actually did 45 of them in 45 seconds…I’m sure I didn’t do as many the following rounds but I stuck it out and did not quit!
  6. 4 minute stretch

Overall I was really proud of myself for doing it without stopping at all!  Had I not realized that I had gone 2 intervals without stopping I might have been inclined to go a bit easier and take some breaks but since I had done so well to start with, I got stubborn and wanted to prove to myself that I could do it.  Sometimes, being stubborn works in my favour so I enjoy the times that it does…

I’m sure I’ll feel it tomorrow though so I’m glad that I’m teaching yoga tonight to stretch my legs out a bit! 

36 down, 144 workouts to go….

Leave a Reply

