2 Comments

Full body workout…

Since I couldn’t get to the gym to do weights today, I did the Fast and Fierce, Nike App workout again to see how I found it this time.   It’s a 45 minute full body workout with exercises ranging from 30 seconds – 2 minutes in length.  Here’s how it went:

  1. 1 minute light jog  – to warm up
  2. 1 minute back pedaling – since I was home I was able to do this easier than at the gym
  3. 1 minute plank – I focused on putting the weight over my shoulders, tightening my abs and relaxing my legs/glutes here.
  4. 2 minutes single leg deadlift with arm curl as you come up with weights – my balance has gotten a lot better on these exercises.  Either I’ve strengthened my stabilizers and they can now hold me or muscle memory is kicking in.
  5. 30 seconds alternating froggers – start in plank, jump one leg at a time to the outside of the arm…so right foot to right hand, then switch left foot to left hand,  switching, going as fast as possible
  6. 30 seconds tuck jumps – standing feet hip width apart, jump both legs up and tuck them to your chest…repeat…why do these come up in every exercise that I do…I think it’s a conspiracy because I hate them.
  7. 2 minutes step back lunge with overhead press with weights – I used lighter weights since doing a press for 2 minutes starts to take it toll
  8. 1 minute plank walk – start on your hand, go down to one elbow, then to the other, back up to straight arm on side, then the other
  9. 1 minute ski jump to cross back lunge – jump to right and as you land, take the left leg behind the right and squat…repeat to left.
  10. 2 minutes wide leg deadlift w/weights – good thing I did this at home, this one must look amazing from the back..haha
  11. 30 seconds 2 feet plank side hops – in plank, jump both feet to the right, close to your hands, back to plank and to the left.  Insanity does this too..these exercises are too similar…but only because I hate them.
  12. 30 seconds knee tucks – in plank, jump both feet just behind your hands and back to plank…try not to pass out here
  13. 1 minute toe touches – on your back, straight legs up, take a medicine ball and try to touch your toes with it…I didn’t have a ball at home so I used a weight, same thing really.
  14. 1 minute side plank crunches – on your elbow on one side, small lifts of your hips up and down…this one felt good, my obliques were tight and keeping my body controlled
  15. 2 minutes single leg deadlift with db row – I was able to balance better but now that I’m getting tired by balance was not as good.
  16. 30 seconds high knees – I focused on getting my knees up using my abs and I felt really good!
  17. 30 seconds frogger with swivel – In plank, take your right knee to your left elbow, then left knee to right elbow, then jump both feet to the outside of your hands and jump them back to plank… I love this exercise, it feels great on my abs.
  18. 1 minute cleans – I’ve finally figured out how to do this one and don’t look as stupid! Small wins!! 
  19. 1 minute squat rotation with weights- feet hip width apart, weights by your shoulders, squat and as you come up twist to one side and press the weights up over your head. I forgot to press the weights over my head…maybe why I didn’t feel this one.
  20. 2 minutes side lunge with arm curls – This one felt much better than the last time I did this workout.  I was able to add the arms and did the whole 2 minutes.
  21. 2 minute opposite arm/leg extension – on your hands and knees, extend left leg and right arm…this was pretty easy.  I had to concentrate on not arching my back though.
  22. 30 second mountain climbers – in plank, jump one leg to the hands, then the other and keep alternating them …killer!!!
  23. 30 second jump squats – yeah these suck especially this late into the workout
  24. 2 minute side plank w/ leg lift – the bottom leg is bent and you’re on your elbow.  You’re supposed to lift your hips and as you do so, to also lift the top leg…yeah I was able to do it on one side but then my leg was too weak to hold my body on the other side.  I had to take the leg lift out to continue.
  25. 2 minute single leg clock squats –  you’re balancing on your left leg, right leg is bent.  Holding one weight with both hands you touch it to the outside of your left leg so you have to squat.  I found it hard to balance again as my legs were tired.
  26. 1 minute full extension – lying on your back, legs an inch off the ground, holding a medicine ball in your arms, bend your knees and bring the arms with the ball to hug your knees.  I used a weight here instead of a ball.
  27. 1 minute v-ups – these are not the crazy v-ups from the P90X workout.  These are keep your hands on the ground and bring your chest to your knees…a little better but still for a minute was pretty hard.
  28. 30 second plank – good thing this was only 30 seconds!
  29. 30 second ski jumps – Holding a medicine ball in your hands, jump the left leg out to the side and as you land, take the right leg behind it. From there jump the right leg to the side and switch. I like this one, it feels easy, but that’s probably because of all the soccer I play.
  30. 30 second scissor jumps – arghh…these are brutal…
  31. 1 minute suitcases – on your back, legs up with knees bent and holding the medicine ball between your legs (not sure why to be honest with you).  Crunch your upper body to your knees.
  32. 1 minute wood chops – starting with one weight to both hands (like an axe) you jump down into a wide squat and take the weight to the ground…and of course you jump back up.
  33. 1 minute push ups with feet on medicine ball – so sad that I didn’t have a medicine ball to do this…darn…I wasn’t even able to do proper pushups at this point, I had to go on my knees.
  34. 1 minute reverse crunches – on your back, keep your legs straight in the air and lift your hips off the ground. What a big difference in this exercise…I was able to keep it controlled as I did it without using my momentum.
  35. 30 seconds 2 feet lateral hops – these were pretty easy but by this point I was glad for the break!
  36. 1 minute opposite arm/leg supermans – lying down on your stomach, arms stretched out in front of you, lift opposite arm and leg up at the same time.  I was really feeling this in my butt. 
  37. 2 minutes basketball lunge with medicine ball press – Lunge the right leg back and put the medicine ball under the front leg, like a dribbling drill… I was able to use the weight for this too, not as much fun as the ball but still a great exercise.
  38. 1 minute kick downs – lying on your back, keeping your legs straight, lift them up and drop them an inch from the ground.  I was able to do this now, last time I had to stop so I wouldn’t tweak my back..
  39. 1 minute plank – blah of course they threw this in at the end and a whole minute.  This one hurt but I thought it was the last exercise so I stuck it out…
  40. 30 second scissor jumps – really, this is just cruel adding the two exercises I hate the most at the end, scissor jumps and froggers
  41. 30 second froggers I did them…slowly, but I did them. 

I had a protein shake when I was done, since I teach Spinning and Yoga tonight so I need my body not to tense up on me.  Knock on wood but my quad has not been bothering me anymore.  It’s still in knots but at least it doesn’t feel tight or cramping.  I’ll go for a run tomorrow to see how it feels and will lay of hills for a bit until it’s less knotted so it doesn’t flare back up again.

37 down, 143 workouts to go….

2 comments on “Full body workout…

  1. We missed you today but it looks like you did better on your own!

Leave a Reply

