Leave a comment

Back at it…

“The will to win means nothing without the will to prepare.”
– Juma Ikangaa, Tanzanian marathoner

After my 3 crazy workout day on Tuesday, my hamstrings were screaming at me yesterday so I took the day off.  This morning, I was adamant to get back into it so I went to the gym.  Having arrived earlier than I had anticipated I broke one of my most important cardinal rules:  SPACE OUT SPINNING CLASSES AT LEAST 3 DAYS APART!

As soon as I sat on the bike, I remembered why I made that rule and knew I’d regret it all class.  Luckily, we had a lot of standing songs so it got better….  My hamstrings felt tight but nothing too crazy and riding felt good.  By the time I was done, I was drenched!

I then went upstairs to do my weights workout. It’s not often that I do spinning and weights right after, it not only makes for a long time at the gym, but my body’s not as rested for the weights, so my numbers always go down a bit.  I think because of my day off yesterday I felt more rested than usual, but boy was I wrong.  While I had a day off from working out, I didn’t get home from work until 11pm so mentally, I was beat.   It was hard to concentrate on what I had to go so the workout took a lot longer than I had planned:

Group 1:

  1. Chest – Standard Push up –10+8/4+8 Wasn’t able to get that 10 up today…I tried, but my back was doing all the work instead of my chest and shoulders so I went on my knees to keep going.
  2. Back – Wide Front Pull up – 8/10 I don’t know why but I put the pull-up machine at 60 today instead of 70 and was able to crank 8 out…it was pretty hard at the end so I took it back to 70 for the second set.  I could feel my hamstrings here too…so funny how every part of the body tries to help out.
  3. Shoulders – Alternating Shoulder Press – 10/8 I upped my weights to 25 pounds today…cause I’m crazy and because I wanted to live dangerously!  My right weight did come close to falling out of my hands at 10 so I stopped.  My forearms were on fire since I’m still not using my thumbs.  

Group 2:

  1. Chest – Military Push up – 3+6/2+8 Damn it, I couldn’t go up one here either…I think I need to hold my horses and be happy with the fact that I can do 3 to begin with, but it’s hard to not want to do more.
  2. Back – Reverse Grip 45 degree pull up – 12/12 It’s funny that you only realize how much your whole body is involved in these exercises when something’s tight.  My hamstrings were killing here….and my forearms…
  3. Shoulders – Dumbbell Upright Ts – 12/10 Still stayed at 10 pounds…still struggling to hold the weights up with my fingers after 10…but it’s a great exercise for my shoulders, it works every angle!

Group 3:

  1. Chest – Wide Push up – 12/10 My wrists were hurting here on the first round and when I looked, I had them in a weird angle since I’m using weights to press into them.  As soon as I let go of the weights, the push up seemed so much easier since I wasn’t going as low.  I’m sticking with doing them on the weights, I get a better range.  Now I just need to work on getting off my knees!
  2. Back – Lat Pulldown – 6/6+6 I’m sticking with lat pulldowns.   I upped the weight to 90 pounds at first but could only do 6 reps and I wasn’t getting the bar as low on my chest as I could have liked.  I took it down to 82.5 pounds on the second rep and then took it down even more to 67 pounds so I could keep going.
  3. Shoulders – Lateral Raises – 15/14 It’s so hard to hold these weights without my thumbs, my fingers and forearms are on fire and I’m using 12 pound dumbbells.  I might try to up the weights to 15 pounds next time but I’ll make sure to wear steel-toe boots!

Group 4:

  1. Biceps – In & Out Bicep Curls – 12/12 Yeah there was no way I was doing 15 reps today, I have no idea how I did it last week.
  2. Triceps –Chair Dips w/ ball – 15/10 My triceps were feeling really weak today and I was taking way too long at the gym so I decided not to do side tri raises.  The chair dips felt good though and I didn’t fall off this time..always a plus 🙂

Group 5:

  1. Biceps – Crouching Cohen Curls – 8/8 Back down to 8 reps only here today…I’m blaming the spin class earlier!
  2. Triceps – Tricep Extension– 12/12 I had to focus on keeping my elbows in here, they kept wanting to splay outwards!  

Group 6:

  1. Biceps – Hammer Curls – 8/8 I expected my right elbow to try to push to the right again but it didn’t!  I’ll take that as a sign that my right is getting stronger.
  2. Triceps – Tricep Pulldown– 12/12 Since my triceps were so tired today, the pulldown with 12.5 pounds was a nice way to end.  By the last few reps it was challenging too so I’ll take it.

Phew…I was beat by the time I was done… but was really glad that I had come and pushed so hard.  Sometimes, a great workout is the best thing you can do for your body and your sanity, and today was one of those days for me! 

38 down, 142 workouts to go…

Leave a Reply

