Leave a comment

Back at it…

“It is better to be prepared for an opportunity and not have one than to have an opportunity and not be prepared.” ~Whitney M. Young, Jr

It’s been a few months since I posted last.  I’m sorry I’ve been MIA, I changed jobs, summer started and time got away from me.  The good news is I didn’t stop working out.  I had to slow down on the 2 a day workouts, but I kept playing soccer one to three times a week and I’m still teaching spinning and yoga twice a week.  In total, when I’m taking it easy because life get busy, I’m working out an average of 8 hours a week…not bad for maintenance.

This weekend is the CanFitPro conference in Toronto and I attended my first session tonight…CPR.   Being a fitness instructor, I take CPR training annually and I every year I’m reminded that once a year is not enough.  I remember a few things and as the years pass, I feel more comfortable with the procedures, but the way to do things change annually.  New research comes out, old ways of doing things come back in, more efficient ways are found…and sometimes I think, if you perform enough research you can come to whatever conclusion you want!

Whatever method you learned and know, doing something is always better than doing nothing!  I would strongly recommend that everyone takes CPR training or at least read up on it.  There are many places you can get the training, St. John’s Ambulance, the Red Cross, and many local CPR centres.  Classes can be as quick as 2 hours or full First Aid and CPR can take up to two full days…trust me, you won’t regret it!

Here is a list of steps to perform CPR:

  1. Assess the environment – make sure you don’t put yourself in danger when assisting
  2. Identify yourself and obtain consent – if the person is unconcious, consent is assumed
  3. Determine if the person is unresponsive – walk up to them from their legs and call out to them, tap them on the foot, hip, shoulder
  4. Call 911 – or send someone else to call 911 and ask them to come back once it’s done
  5. Attempt to get an Automatic External Difibrulator (AED) if one is available – early defibrulation is the link most likely to improve survival rates of heart attack victims
  6. Open the airway – head lift, chin lift
  7. Check for breathing – put your ear to the person’s mouth and watch the chest to see if it’s rising for 5 seconds
  8. Give 30 chest compressions – at a speed of ‘one and two and three and…’ push down in the middle of their chest (at the sternum) about 2 inches in depth
  9. Open the airway and give 2 breaths – if you have a one way guard or if you feel comfortable without one
  10. Go back to 30 chest compressions & 2 breaths until EMS arrive or you are too exhausted to continue

If you didn’t notice, the changes that have been made this year:

  • The old way of doing CPR was A-B-C — for Airway, Breathing and Compressions.
  • The new way is C-A-B — for Compressions, Airway, and Breathing.

The reason for the change is that studies show that you need to keep fresh blood pumping through the person’s body to keep their organs viable until help arrives to treat the cause.

Tough Mudder is on Saturday…let’s hope I don’t have to use my refreshed First Aid and CPR training there!

Leave a Reply

