Leave a comment

More Tabata & Abs

“You can’t get much done in life if you only work on the days when you feel good.”
~Jerry West

My left leg was still tight this morning, but after I took Trey for a walk it started loosing up so I figured I might as well get my butt to the gym and do more Tabata training.  I upped the workout from 3 Tabata intervals to 6 to increase my cardio.  They were:

box-jumpsFirst series:

  • High knees
  • Mountain climbers

Second series:

  • Seal jacks
  • Push-up jacks

Third series:

  • Skater jumps
  • Plank to push-up

Fourth series:

  • Jumping lunges
  • weight-bench-hopRussian Twists

Fifth series:

  • Two legged box jumps
  • Bench hop overs

Sixth series:

  • Squat jumps
  • Bench Tricep dips

Out of all of them, the fifth series killed me!  It was two cardio exercises and two pretty intense ones at that.  I should have either done that as the first interval when I was fresh, or broken them up to do something less intense in the pair. 

I took a minute off between each series so in total it took me 30 minutes and I was beat!  I did a 15 minute ab workout to finish off.  I choose 5 exercises and repeated them 3 times:

  • 1 minute Toe Touches – on your back, with your legs up in the air, take an 8 pound medicine ball to touch your feet
  • 1 minute Russian Twists – sitting down, legs in the air, take the medicine ball to touch the ground from side to side
  • 30 second Plank
  • 1 minute Side Plank with hip lifts – on your elbow, bottom leg is bent, top leg is straight, lift your hips and bring them back down…change sides at 30 seconds
  • 1 minute Crazy Ivans – similar to russian twists, but take the medicine ball from the top left, to touch the ground on the right and back up past your left shoulder.  Change sides at 30 seconds
  • 30 seconds break

In total, it was a 45 minute workout, incorporating full body strength, toning and cardio….pretty complete workout!  After stretching my legs I went into the sauna for 15 minutes…I figure I deserved it!

And tonight, I’ll try not to eat and drink all the calories back…HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Leave a Reply

