Leave a comment

Staying accountable…

“Nothing worthwhile comes easily.
Work, continuous work and hard work, is the only way to accomplish results that last.”
~Hamilton Holt

I’m on Day 2 of Asylum and so far, the workouts are kicking my butt.  Everyone I’ve told about the program has, after telling me that I’m crazy, asked the same questions:

  1. Why?
  2. How do you stay motivated to do it daily?

The Why is easy – to prove to myself that I can do it and to challenge my body to get stronger and leaner.

The second question is much tougher to answer so I thought I’d share some of the things I do to stick with the program.  I:

  1. Work out first thing in the morning – too many things come up after work and I find I don’t have the energy in the evenings
  2. Hit play – no matter how tired I am or how sore I am from the previous day’s workout, I hit play and I do my best
  3. Do one more – when I feel like I can do no more, I push myself to do just one more rep
  4. Never sacrifice form – if I’m unable to do the exercise fully, I slow it down, I drop the weights, I alter my form, whatever it takes to keep going without risking injury
  5. Watch what I eat – while I generally eat healthy, I have to admit that the hardest part of the program for me is the food.  Cutting out the lattes, the snacking here and there when food is available at the office, the shared plates of sweet potato fries at the pub and most importantly the alcohol, is a continuous struggle.  I have to mentally decide that it’s not worth all my hard work to waste it by cheating on the food.
  6. Start the day right- For breakfast I have a Shakeology drink.  It keeps me full for a few hours, gives me a boost of vegetables and fruits and all the nutrients that come along with them that I would otherwise struggle to get
  7. Eat regularly – as I’m exercising so much, my body is asking for food more often.  I make sure that I don’t limit the amount of food that I eat so that I’m not hungry, I just limit the types of food that I’m eating.  I find my willpower lessens if I’m hungry and plus, no one should have to deal with me being cranky.
  8. Tell everyone – I’ve told my friends, co-workers, I blog about it…anything to keep me accountable
  9. Have a BeachBody Coach – Tony Felgueiras has graciously offered his support.  He answers any questions I have about the program and the workouts, keeps me on track and shares his experiences of having gone through the program.  Follow him on Facebook and Twitter if you’d like some motivation during your workouts.  

Here’s to hoping some of these tips will help you stick to your fitness goals…

Leave a Reply

