Leave a comment

New year, new workout…

“I do not suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.”
~ Edgar Allan Poe

Beachbody, Workout, InsanityAs the title of this blog explains I’m always in search of a new challenge.  So as soon as I heard of Beachbody‘s new Insanity workout, I couldn’t say no to Shaun T.  Having finished P90X, Insanity and Asylum, a high intensity workout that only takes 30 minutes a day was right up my alley…so today was Day 1 of Insanity Max:30!  

The schedule is pretty straight forward, there are five 30 minute workouts running Monday – Friday, with an optional recovery workout on Saturday and a 10 minute ab workout for good measure.  The basis for the workouts are H.I.I.T (High Intensity Interval Training) where you go all out for short periods of time, followed by a quick recovery.  H.I.I.T is a preferred training method for athletes looking to increase endurance, build muscle, burn fat and overall increase fitness by pushing your body to improve and to go further.

In the Insanity Max:30 workouts, Shaun T motivates you to ‘Max out’, to push your body until you have to take a break (or until you lose your form).  So instead of pacing yourself to get through the workout, Shaun T pushes you to go hard from the start, and to keep pushing yourself until you can’t go anymore…maxing out to improve and beat your personal best each day. 

Day 1

The first workout was the Cardio Challenge – 4 rounds of high intensity exercises that run for 4.5 minutes, with 30 second break in between. While I’d like to blame the 2 Bikram yoga classes I did this weekend for my legs feeling tight but I’m sure it was the intensity of the workout that kicked my butt.  I maxed out at 7 minutes, 41 seconds…which the competitor in me was not impressed with.  I was able to get through the workout, stopping only a few times to catch my breath but I definitely felt slower than the people in the video, again a frustrating realization.

Still, it was a great place to start and I’m looking forward to Day 2: Tabata Power…

 

Leave a Reply

